Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cajun Chicken Pasta January 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 10:55 pm

Recupe courtesy of: “Pennies on a Platter” (food blog)

Original recipe located at: http://penniesonaplatter.com/2010/01/10/cajun-chicken-pasta/ 

I saw this recipe on a forum I’m a member of, and it sounded like something I needed to try.  It had some of my favorite ingredients: pasta, cheese, and bell peppers. 

Ingredients:

8 ounces rotini pasta (I used gemelli–such a cute pasta)
3 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cubed 
2 – 3 teaspoons Cajun seasoning (or to taste)
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 red bell pepper, sliced
1 green bell pepper, sliced
8 oz package sliced mushrooms
1 green onion, chopped
1 cup heavy cream
1/4 teaspoon fresh basil
1/4 teaspoon lemon pepper
salt, to taste
2 cloves minced garlic
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 – 3 Tablespoons cornstarch
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add salt and pasta, then cook for 10 to 12 minutes or until al dente; drain.

Place the chicken and the Cajun seasoning in a plastic bag. Shake to coat. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet, saute the chicken until almost tender (5 to 7 minutes).

Add the bell peppers, mushrooms and green onion. Saute and stir for 2 to 3 minutes. Reduce heat.

Add the cream, basil, lemon pepper, salt, garlic powder and ground black pepper. Heat through. Add cornstarch until sauce reaches desired thickness. Add the cooked pasta, toss and heat through. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and serve.

I only used green bell pepper because they were on sale and I had a few of them on hand.  I definitely recommend using one red and one green if you can, because the color of red peppers would really pop in this dish, and I like the sweet flavor they have. 

I think you could easily cut this down to two chicken breasts if you’re like me and prefer a healthy dose of carbs with your protein!  I would keep the sauce amount the same. 

If I made the recipe again, I would saute the peppers and mushrooms separately.  They didn’t cook quite enough in with the chicken (for my taste).  I would also add the liquid to that pan and stir the corn starch in, as it was difficult to blend the corn starch in the pan with the chicken and vegetables.

Overall, a tasty recipe and a nice change from the typical chicken and pasta.

 

One Response to “Cajun Chicken Pasta”

  1. I like your suggestion to stir in the corn starch earlier. It was a last minute decision for me (to add the corn starch for thickening) but next time I think I’ll add it first!

    Glad you liked it overall. :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.