Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cooking Light Rösti Casserole with Baked Eggs January 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 4:36 am

Recipe courtesy of: Cooking Light Magazine (January 2010)

The umlaut in the name of this recipe called to me.  See, I lived in Germany for a few years.  I have fond memories of Reibekuchen (potato pancakes) at Weihnachtsmärkte (Christmas markets).  Oh, they were scrumptious!  Let me see if I can dig up a photo…(circa 2005)

Okay, I’m on the right (although I have dark brown hair, but there were clearly some flash issues in this photo).  It was cold, as you can tell. 

I also happen to enjoy the occasional breakfast for dinner. 

I made more substitutions than I usually do, but I think they all worked out quite fine.  I also halved the recipe, but included the original recipe below.  I did not halve the amount of cheese.  I don’t honestly think something can have TOO much cheese.  Of course this made it slightly less “light,” but so did the bacon I served it with (and blueberry chicken sausage, yumm)!

Recommendation: DO NOT OVERCOOK THE EGGS.  I did this, but only slightly.  It’s very tricky cooking eggs in the oven.  They looked too runny to me so I left them for an extra minute and they weren’t quite as runny as I would have liked. 

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4  cups  fat-free Greek-style yogurt (I substituted a low-fat sour cream, as I forgot to pick Greek yogurt up at the store)
  • 2  tablespoons  all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2  cups  grated peeled turnip (about 8 ounces, 2 small) —I omitted the turnip, as I didn’t have any on hand (and never actually have had turnips on hand)
  • 1 1/4  cups  (5 ounces) shredded Gruyère cheese (I have a lot of shredded cheese in the house, but no Gruyere, and am probably too cheap to purchase it, at least for this recipe—so I used a swiss cheese blend and some shredded cheddar)  I used 1 cup of cheese even though I halved the recipe–I am a bit of a cheeseaholic. 
  • 1/3  cup  butter, melted
  • 1/4  cup  chopped fresh chives (oops, no chives!)
  • 1 1/4  teaspoons  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4  teaspoon  grated whole nutmeg
  • 1  (30-ounce) package frozen shredded hash brown potatoes, thawed (such as Ore-Ida)
  • Cooking spray
  • 8  large eggs
  • Chopped fresh chives (optional)
  • Freshly ground black pepper (optional)
  • Dash paprika
  • Dash cajun seasoning
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 400°.

2. Combine yogurt and flour in a large bowl, stirring well. Add turnip, Gruyère cheese, butter, chives, 1 1/4 teaspoons salt, black pepper, nutmeg, and potatoes to yogurt mixture. Spread potato mixture evenly into a 13 x 9–inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake at 400° for 30 minutes or until bubbly. Remove from oven. With the back of a spoon, make 8 indentations in top of potato mixture. Crack 1 egg into each of 8 indentations. Return dish to oven. Bake at 400° for 8 minutes or until egg whites are firm and yolks barely move when pan is touched. Cut into 8 pieces. Garnish with additional chives and black pepper, if desired. Serve immediately.

Nutritional Information (if prepared according to original recipe)

Calories: 347
Fat:  17.4g (sat 9.3g,mono 5.7g,poly 1.4g)
Protein: 18.1g
Carbohydrate: 27.3g
Fiber: 2.1g
Cholesterol: 220mg
Iron: 1.2mg
Sodium: 605mg
Calcium: 242mg

 
 

Leave a Reply

