Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chicken Florentine (“light”) January 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 5:08 am

Courtesy of: I typed this recipe up from a clipping my mom mailed me, and of course tossed the clipping and didn’t type the source.  Sorry!

This was my first attempt at chicken florentine, and this variation was easy to throw together and yielded plenty of leftovers that go great tossed with pasta or served over rice.  I think adding chopped artichokes would add a nice twist, but I may be partial since spinach artichoke dip is one of my favorite appetizers and I often order pasta dishes that have artichokes in them!

Ingredients:

10 oz package frozen chopped spinach

3 grilled or roasted chicken breast halves (diced or shredded)—I grilled the chicken breasts on the George Foreman until they were almost done, then chunked them.  I was worried that they would dry out too much in the oven if I grilled them too long, but they weren’t at all, probably because there is quite a bit of liquid in the recipe.

10-3/4 oz can cream of mushroom soup

¼ cup light mayonnaise

¾ cup fat free sour cream

1 cup grated reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese, firmly packed  (I used 1/2 cup sharp cheddar and 1/2 cup of an Italian blend…I only had 1/2 cup of cheddar left and didn’t want to open another packet when I had the Italian one open already)

2 teaspoons lemon juice

½  teaspoon curry powder

Freshly ground black pepper to taste (approx ¼ teaspoon)

¼ cup dry white wine, non-alcoholic or light beer or low fat milk (I used white wine)

¼ cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

¼ cup Panko breadcrumbs (I used cracker-crumbs, as I had some crackers that were going stale that I needed to use)

Canola cooking spray

 Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Coat a 1-1/2 quart or 2 quart baking dish with canola cooking spray.

Drain the spinach to remove excess water then place in a large mixing bowl.  Stir in the shredded chicken and se taside.

In medium bowl, combine the soup, mayo, sour cream, cheddar, lemon juice, curry powder, black pepper and wine with a wisk until a nice sauce forms.  Stir in the chicken and spinach mixture and spoon into the prepared dish.  Level the top with a spatula or spoon.

In a small bowl combine the Parmesan cheese and bread crumbs together.  Sprinkle the crumb mixture evenly over the chicken mixture.  Coat the top with canola cooking spray.

Bake uncovered for about 30 minutes or until hot and bubbly.  Serves four.

313 calories per serving (We only ate 1/6 of the casserole, but we also had one serving of rice and an additional vegetable.  It rarely happens that I eat less than the serving size, considering how tiny some of them are!)

 

One Response to “Chicken Florentine (“light”)”

  1. Linda Says:

    I really think you need to come back home and start cooking for me. These recipes sound scrumptious, and the photos bear that out!
    Mom


Leave a Reply

