Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Pumpkin Birthday Cheesecake January 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 11:08 pm

Recipe courtesy of: Stephanie Phillips at allrecipes.com

Original recipe located at: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Double-Layer-Pumpkin-Cheesecake-2/Detail.aspx

My husband requested this cheesecake as his birthday cake.  I have been meaning to make it for awhile (since before Christmas), but hadn’t gotten around to it.  It also happens to be my very first cheesecake (unless you count cheesecake bars).  I adapted the recipe based on some of the recommendations of reviewers.  The ingredients include the alterations, but you can click the link for the original recipe.

While this is supposed to be a “double layer” cheesecake, I forgot to add the eggs before separating out one cup of the cheesecake mixture (woops), which I realized when I tried to spread it onto the crust and it wasn’t very “spreadable.”  So back into the bowl it went with the rest that already had pumpkin in it.  The white in the picture below is some of the part I tried to spread that I didn’t get scooped up all the way.

 

While it may have a streak of white, I am proud to say that there were no cracks in the finished product!

Ingredients

  • 3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened (I used one regular and two light packages)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • Graham cracker crust (I followed this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Graham-Cracker-Crust/Detail.aspx )
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin pie filling (the recipe calls for 1/4 cup but I tasted the mixture and it wasn’t pumpkin-y enough for me)
  • 1/2 cup frozen whipped topping, thawed

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, combine cream cheese, sugar and vanilla. Beat until smooth. Blend in eggs one at a time. Remove 1.5 cups of batter and spread into bottom of crust; set aside.
  3. Add pumpkin pie filling to the remaining batter and stir gently until well blended. Carefully spread over the batter in the crust.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 35 to 40 minutes, or until center is almost set. Allow to cool, then refrigerate for 3 hours or overnight. Cover with whipped topping before serving.
 

Leave a Reply

