Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

For my Valentine: White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake February 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 9:13 pm

Recipe Courtesy of: CindyAnn (@allrecipes.com)

Original Recipe Located At: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/White-Chocolate-Raspberry-Cheesecake/Detail.aspx

I was a little disappointed with how this turned out visually—it stayed in a bit too long, so the sides are a little more brown than I would like, and for some reason the Oreo crust does not want to come out with the cheesecake when I serve a piece. =(  BUT, this is SCRUMPTIOUS!  Definitely a must-try!  The white chocolate flavor isn’t too strong but mellows out the cheesecake and the raspberry comes through more than I expected, especially when served with the raspberry sauce.  Yummm.

I’m going to try using 1.5 cups of crumbs instead of 1, and perhaps use chocolate graham crackers instead of Oreos.  I might also try some of the cheesecake tips (baking in a water bath, turning off the oven after an hour and leaving it in there for a bit). 

 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup chocolate cookie crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 (10 ounce) package frozen raspberries
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cups white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half cream
  • 3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, mix together cookie crumbs, 3 tablespoons sugar, and melted butter. Press mixture into the bottom of a 9 inch springform pan.
  2. In a saucepan, combine raspberries, 2 tablespoons sugar, cornstarch, and water. Bring to boil, and continue boiling 5 minutes, or until sauce is thick. Strain sauce through a mesh strainer to remove seeds.
  3. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). In a metal bowl over a pan of simmering water, melt white chocolate chips with half-and-half, stirring occasionally until smooth.   I did this in the microwave.  It works just as well and results in less dishes to clean!
  4. In a large bowl, mix together cream cheese and 1/2 cup sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs one at a time. Blend in vanilla and melted white chocolate. Pour half of batter over crust. Spoon 3 tablespoons raspberry sauce over batter. Pour remaining cheesecake batter into pan, and again spoon 3 tablespoons raspberry sauce over the top. Swirl batter with the tip of a knife to create a marbled effect.
  5. Bake for 55 to 60 minutes, or until filling is set. Cool, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 8 hours before removing from pan. Serve with remaining raspberry sauce.
 

2 Responses to “For my Valentine: White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake”

  1. Tara Says:

    I made this over the weekend as well! It will be posting on my blog later this week. I used regular graham crackers instead of Oreos and increased the amount to 2 c. I also used a water bath and turned off the oven for after 1 hr. and let sit for another hour. Mine came out looking completely different (lighter and you couldn’t really see the raspberry swirl as much as yours), but I had a similar problem with the crust sticking to the pan. The original recipe mentions nothing of using nonstick spray on the pan, but I think I will try that next time.
    I agree though — it tasted fantastic!

    • lonislens Says:

      Yeah, it seemed like it wasn’t quite firm enough so I left it in for a few more minutes and when I checked it had turned brown on the sides. It’s amazing how quickly that happens! Now I know to just leave it in for an hour. It’s my second cheesecake ever, and the first one turned out so well I guess I had high hopes for this. Next time I make it I’ll have to do a follow-up post and hopefully the pictures will be prettier!
      One reviewer recommended using parchment paper on the bottom. I might try that.
      Glad you also thought it was delicious!


Leave a Reply

