Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Slow Cooker Chicken/Black Bean Burrito Filling February 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 9:26 pm

Recipe courtesy of: ARO1018 (a member of a forum I’m on)

While swapping quick and easy dinner recipes on a message board I’m involved with, I came across this slow cooker recipe that I knew I’d have to try right away.  I love Mexican food and the ingredients are ones I pretty much always have on hand.  We ate this in tortillas for dinner and then I served up some leftovers with semi-homemade tortilla chips (I sliced store-bought corn tortillas and baked them in the oven with a mist of olive oil and some sea salt). 

Very tasty, very easy, and the leftovers can be frozen and used for oven-baked enchiladas (another favorite of mine).

Ingredients:

  • 3 frozen or thawed chicken breasts (I used thawed because I made it in the afternoon and it took less time)
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 jar salsa (not the giant jar)
  • 1 packet chicken taco seasoning (fajita seasoning or regular taco seasoning would also work)
  • 1 package of reduced fat cream cheese

Directions:

1) Place chicken in the bottom of the crock pot.

2) Sprinkle the taco seasoning on top of the chicken breasts.

3) “Dump” the cans of beans and corn over the top (I did drain some of the liquid but not all of it)

4)  Add the jar of salsa.

5)  Cooking time depends on whether the chicken breasts are frozen or not.  I cooked my thawed chicken on high for an hour and then turned it on low for another couple of hours.  Then I took the chicken breasts out and shredded them, then placed the shredded chicken back into the crock pot.

6)  Add the cream cheese and blend it into the chicken mixture.

7)  Serve with tortillas and any additional toppings you’d like.

 

One Response to “Slow Cooker Chicken/Black Bean Burrito Filling”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I can’t wait to try this. It sounds so yummy and easy 🙂


Leave a Reply

