Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Stuffed Cabbage March 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 1:34 am

This is the second time I’ve made stuffed cabbage, and since I couldn’t recall what recipe I used last time I fell back on my trusty “search by ratings” on allrecipes.com.  It didn’t let me down, although my method for prepping the cabbage leaves is different, and I did add in some spices since it didn’t call for many and I didn’t want it to lack in flavor.  Oh, and I made it in the oven because I’m too lazy to stand by the pan (and too busy entertaining our two dogs, who would otherwise be too involved in the cooking process).

Recipe courtesy of: Judy (at allrecipes.com)

Original recipe located at: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Stuffed-Cabbage-Rolls/Detail.aspx

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup uncooked white rice
  • 8 cabbage leaves
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed tomato soup
  • I added paprika, garlic and Italian seasoning (about a teaspoon of each)

Directions

  1. In a medium saucepan, bring water to a boil. Add rice and stir. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
  2. Bring a large, wide saucepan of lightly salted water to a boil. Add cabbage leaves and cook for 2 to 4 minutes or until softened; drain. I learned the “dunk” method from a different recipe, which I found very helpful.  Stick a fork into the base of the whole head of cabbage and dunk it into the hot water for approximately one minute.  It makes it much easier to pull the leaves off the cabbage.  Then I put the leaves in for an additional minute or two.
  3. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the ground beef, 1 cup cooked rice, onion, egg, salt and pepper, along with 2 tablespoons of tomato soup. Mix thoroughly.
  4. Divide the beef mixture evenly among the cabbage leaves. Roll and secure them with toothpicks or string.
  5. In a large skillet over medium heat, place the cabbage rolls and pour the remaining tomato soup over the top. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for about 40 minutes, stirring and basting with the liquid often.  I baked the cabbage in the oven at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. 

I hear this also makes a good crockpot dish (mine was still full of soup)!

 

Leave a Reply

