Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cuban Ropa Vieja April 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 3:19 am

Recipe courtest of: MASTER815K  

Original recipe located at: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Cuban-Ropa-Vieja/Detail.aspx

I apologize for the random grains of rice in the photo—I forgot to take a photo the night we ate it and this was literally leftovers!

Just typing this is bringing back the succulent and savory flavor of this dish to my mouth.  Very easy, very tasty.  I can’t attest to how authentic it is but it’s definitely a keeper!

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 2 pounds beef flank steak (I used skirt steak.  It worked fine!)
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 small onion, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and sliced into strips (I used bagged frozen red/yellow/green peppers and estimated what I thought amounted to one sliced pepper…cheaper than fresh and great for recipes like this.)
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1 packet of Sazon Goya (suggested by someone who reviewed the recipe online)

Directions

  1. Heat vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Brown the flank steak on each side, about 4 minutes per side.  I skipped this step.  I know it “locks in the juices” but considering the amount of liquid in the recipe I wasn’t concerned and quite frankly, I was not feeling like washing a pan!  (Lucky for me my husband usually does the dishes, anyhow!)
  2. Transfer beef to a slow cooker. Pour in the beef broth and tomato sauce, then add the onion, bell pepper, garlic, tomato paste, cumin, cilantro, sazon, olive oil and vinegar. Stir until well blended. Cover, and cook on High for 4 hours, or on Low for up to 10 hours. When ready to serve, shred meat and serve with tortillas or rice.
 

Leave a Reply

