Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

White Bean Chicken/Turkey Chili June 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 10:37 pm

Recipe Courtesy of: Ellie Krieger

Original recipe located at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ellie-krieger/white-chili-recipe/index.html

I made this for a chili cookoff at work…only I had some issues getting here and it wound up not making it into the competition.  Well I still put it out for everyone to try and you wouldn’t believe the number of e-mails I received saying it was their favorite and they wanted the recipe.

This was the first Ellie Krieger recipe I had tried.  She is on the Food Network and if you do a quick search on foodnetwork.com you can find a lot of recipes by her that are rated highly.  I like that she is a health-conscious chef, but you don’t feel like you’re eating a “light” chili.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 2 stalks celery, diced (about 1/2 cup)
  • 3 medium poblano peppers (about 4 ounces each), seeded and white ribs removed, finely diced (about 1 1/2 cups) (I used several cans of green chilis this time I made it)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, more to taste
  • 1 pound ground white meat turkey  (I used 93% lean ground chicken this time but I also recommend using a Jenny-O pre-seasoned package of “taco” seasoned turkey and adjust the other seasonings accordingly…I’ve made it that way and like how it adds a little color)
  • 2 (15.5-ounce) cans white beans such as cannelini, preferably low-sodium, drained and rinsed
  • 4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 (15.5-ounce) can hominy, drained and rinsed  This ingredient provoked a great deal of, “what exactly is hominy” questions.
  • Salt
  • 2 tablespoons Recaito (I believe I have mentioned my love of this Goya cilantro cooking base product before…when in doubt, bust it out)
  • 1/4 cup nonfat plain Greek-style yogurt (I used plain yogurt)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro leaves
  • Lime wedges
  • 4 small corn tortillas

Directions

I actually made this in the crockpot…but the original directions are below.  What I did was put the crockpot on high and add the olive oil, onions, celery and garlic…once the onions were clear I kind of moved those ingredients to the side and put the ground chicken in to “brown.”  I found out the hard way that if you don’t do that, the ground chicken (particularly with such a low fat content) tends to break down in the broth resulting in a less appetizing appearance.  I then added the seasonings, broth, beans and hominy and turned the crockpot down to low.  No “magic time” for cooking, but I always find that chili tastes better when it cooks low and slow.

I also sliced a couple of tortillas into thin strips and baked them in the oven (a quick spray of olive oil and shake of sea salt on top, 400 degree oven for 5 minutes does the trick) and used just a few to garnish the top.

Heat the oil in large pot or Dutch oven over moderate heat. Add the onion, celery, poblanos, and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are soft, about 8 minutes. Add the garlic, cumin, coriander and cayenne and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Add the ground turkey and cook, breaking up the meat with a spoon, until the meat is no longer pink about 2 minutes. Add the white beans, broth and oregano. Cook, partially covered, stirring occasionally, for 25 minutes.

Add the hominy and salt and more cayenne pepper, to taste, and continue cooking, partially covered, 10 minutes longer. Ladle into individual bowls and top each serving with 1 tablespoon of yogurt and 1 1/2 teaspoons of cilantro. Garnish with a lime wedge.

 Yummm!!!

 

Leave a Reply

