Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Crockpot Chicken Teriyaki September 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 11:22 pm

Recipe courtesy of:  I think it was on allrecipes.com but I can’t find it right now!

Original recipe located at: I’ll get back to you on that. 😉

Pardon the not so wonderful photo.  Something was up with my camera last night and it wasn’t focusing properly, but I was too impatient (read: it was 8pm and I was HUNGRY) to figure it out!

Ingredients:
1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons dry sherry
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 garlic cloves, crushed with a garlic press or minced
1 teaspoon finely grated fresh ginger
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2 pounds skinless chicken thighs (I used 1.5 lbs of chicken breasts)
2 teaspoons sesame seeds
Directions:
Combine the soy sauce, sugar, sherry, vinegar, garlic, ginger and red pepper flakes and stir until the sugar dissolves.

What I did (or rather, what my wonderful husband did): Put mixture in the crockpot along with chicken breasts (cut into large chunks) and sesame seeds.  Cook on low for 4 hours.  Add stir fry veggie mix in the last 30 minutes.

What the recipe says to do:

Transfer to a resealable plastic bag and add the chicken. Seal the bag and marinate the chicken in the refrigerator, turning once, for 1 hour. The chicken can be marinated for up to 4 hours.
Heat the broiler to high. Arrange the chicken on a broiler pan skin side down and broil until brown and crispy, 8 to 10 minutes. Flip the chicken and broil until almost cooked through, about 8 minutes longer. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and cook until the seeds turn golden brown and the chicken is done, 1 to 2 minutes longer.

What I would do differently: Someone had recommended this recipe on a forum I’m on as being good for the crockpot, which I think it can be…just with minor alterations.  The chicken was a little dried out.  Next time I plan on adding 1/4 cup of chicken or beef broth to it and maybe upping the other ingredients slightly.  It just wasn’t enough liquid for the crockpot.  But the flavor was GREAT and I’d definitely make it again.   I think you could also reduce the cooking time to 2 hours since it was chunks of chicken and they were not frozen.

 

Leave a Reply

