Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

“Real Simple” Doughnuts September 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 3:00 pm

Recipe courtesy of: Real Simple Magazine

Original recipe located at: 

http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/easy-doughnuts-10000001609357/index.html

I’m not going to lie, certain foods intimidate me, especially anything involving making dough.  So when I came across this recipe in Real Simple magazine I was thrilled.  No, it’s not the same as real homemade doughnuts (I’m reminiscing about the scrumptious hot from the oil fair doughnuts I used to get growing up), but they definitely satisfy a cinammon-sugar-y fried doughnut craving, and they take almost no time to make!

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 8-count package large refrigerated biscuits (such as Pillsbury Grands)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Heat ½ cup of the oil in a medium skillet over medium-low heat.
  2. Place the biscuits on a cutting board. Using a 1-inch round cookie cutter or shot glass, cut a hole in the center of each biscuit, reserving the extra dough for “holes.”
  3. Test the heat of the oil by dipping the edge of a doughnut in the pan. When the oil is hot enough, the edge will bubble. Place 4 of the doughnuts and holes in the skillet and cook until golden brown, 1 to 1½ minutes per side. Transfer to a wire rack or paper towel–lined plate to drain. Add the remaining oil to the skillet, reheat, and cook the remaining doughnuts and holes.
  4. In a large bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon. Gently toss the warm doughnuts in the mixture a few at a time. Serve warm or at room temperature.

This recipe makes 8 doughnuts, plus holes.

 

18 Responses to ““Real Simple” Doughnuts”

  1. Kylanie Says:

    Those look so easy! Saving this recipe for another time 🙂

  2. donna sprague Says:

    I have been making these for years,eat them while their hot!! Delicious!

  3. Joni Says:

    I’ve tried these. They work good in a pinch but don’t taste like real donuts..just biscuits with sugar on them.

    • lonislens Says:

      No, they’re definitely not quite the same as real donuts…but they are tasty to me in a different way (and I like that they’re hot and fresh as opposed to a lot of purchased donuts).

  4. Paula Says:

    Sounds yummy! Can’t wait to try them.

  5. Sandy Says:

    These are great my girls (16 and 19) Love to make these on the weekends.. we use chocolate and powered sugar too

  6. Debra Jacobs Says:

    This is a good idea – have to try it! But I am watching fat calories, so think I will try baking some donuts instead of frying! I will cut the biscuit dough in half – then cut out center – I will brush with melted Smart Balance margarine – then put on cookie sheet and bake (watch for them to brown – bking time reduced due to smaller size!) Then remove from oven and quickly brush again with melted margarine and sprinkle with *Watkins Cinna-Sprinkles or Watkins Cinnamon mixed with Truvia or Splenda one side only! This will satisfy my craving for higher calorie donuts!) (You could cut the biscuits into quarters!) YUM!

    • lonislens Says:

      I will say that I tried baking them once and the result was definitely not as good. A previous commenter said that these taste like biscuits with cinammon sugar on them. When they’re fried they don’t taste just like that to me, but when they’re baked they do (at least to me). Let me know if your version of baking them is successful!

  7. Patricia Says:

    This is great recipe! Really simple. Thanks

  8. Jeannie Says:

    We have made these for 35 years. Were a tradition for my daughter’s sleep overs and a new generation are now making them for their families. We use to have donut Tuesday once a month at our home when my youngest was in kindergarten and moms… would bring fruit and juice and I would prepare the donuts. Zip bags of cinnamon sugar and powdered sugar were for the kids to shake up for themselves. We also offered homemade jam for a drop in the center. For a special celebration we frosted them with canned frosting or drizzled choc. syrup or honey over them. Sprinkles are a must. Kids love to make these and the neighborhood moms all got a chance to visit. Use them in place of cake for a birthday celebration and activity. I have used this for Scouts, church groups, even a baby shower. Never found anyone who did not like them. You can also roll the dough into small balls and shake in powdered sugar or cinnamon sugar. Enjoy! I use any of the refrigerated biscuits and just spread apart the biscuits to create a hole as I place them in the oil.

  9. VAL Says:

    TRY USING ICING WARM UP IN THE MICROWAVE, CREAM CHEESE. CHOCOCALTE, OR STRAWBERRY AN DON’T FORGET THE SPRINKLES 4 THA KIDZ!! HAPPY EATING :}

    • lonislens Says:

      I actually don’t care for frosting (too sweet for me)…but this is a great idea for those who like glazed/frosted/iced donuts!

  10. Kathy Says:

    Memories}
    My X-sister inlaw always made these, they were tasty and the kids (as well as myself) absolutely loved them!

    She used an inexpensive store brand can biscuit.
    Depending on the time of year and what she had on hand, she would simple coat them Cinnamon & Sugar or Pumpkin Pie Spice & Sugar or simply rolling them in powder sugar.

    My Favorite.?!
    Her Pumpkin Pie Spice & Sugar coated donuts

    • lonislens Says:

      Ooo…the pumpkin pie spice is a great idea! Also, I just included the recipe as written by Real Simple magazine. I don’t think it matters what biscuit brand you use, either!

  11. Rene Says:

    Shoot…this is an old “recipe”. I remember eating them when I was a little girl about 45+ years ago. Pillsburgy Grands make the best one, but you have to cut the biscuit in half cross ways. Don’t use a donut hole cutter. Stick your finger thru the middle and make yourself a hole. It’s more fun that way! Also let the donuts cool a little bit (not cold) before you put the sugar on it. It can be a mess if you don’t.

  12. Theresa Mathewson Says:

    I learned about these ‘real simple doughnuts’ from my Cub Scout son in 1977 after he returned home from CS camp. I’ve been making them ever since. They are delicious. We also make the Italian treat “Pizza Fritte” (fried dough) by shaping the biscuit into a flat, irregular shaped piece of dough and frying it the same as you would the ‘doughnut’. We like ours with regular granulated sugar, some prefer confectioners sugar.
    Theresa


Leave a Reply

