Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Buffalo Chicken “Sloppy Joes” September 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 9:00 am

Recipe courtesy of: Rachael Ray

Original recipe located at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-ray/sloppy-buffalo-joes-recipe/index.html

I have made this recipe twice using ground chicken, which the recipe calls for.  I happen to have a bunch of chicken breast packages I need to use, so I made the same recipe but using 3 chicken breasts instead.  I think it turned out well, but the ground chicken is definitely more of a true sloppy joe.  I only titled this sloppy joes because if you follow the original recipe, that’s what you wind up with!

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 pounds ground chicken or turkey breast
  • 1 carrot, peeled and chopped or grated
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 2 to 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped or grated
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup hot sauce (recommended: Frank’s Red Hot)
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 8 good quality burger rolls, split and toasted (I used Ciabatta rolls today, which stood up well to the sauce)
  • 1 cup blue cheese crumbles  (my husband dislikes blue cheese, so I wound up using pepper jack today and melted it onto the buns while they toasted in the oven)
  • 2 large dill pickles, chopped

Directions

Heat a large skillet with extra-virgin olive oil over medium-high heat. Add meat and break it up with wooden spoon, cook 5 to 6 minutes. Add in carrots, celery, onions and garlic, season with salt and freshly ground black pepper, cook 7 to 8 minutes more. In a bowl combine the vinegar, sugar, Worcestershire, hot sauce, tomato sauce and stock. Pour into the pan and stir to combine. Simmer a few minutes more. Pile sloppy Buffalo filling onto buns and top with blue cheese and chopped pickles.

I put all the ingredients in the crockpot each time I’ve made this.  I do let the celery, onion and carrots and meat simmer on high in there (with the olive oil) until softened before adding the sauce mixture.  Otherwise you can wind up with disintegrated ground chicken (not appealing)!  I think it’s an excellent crockpot meal, but definitely doesn’t need to be on all day (I had the thawed chicken breasts in there for 2 hours on high and then shredded the chicken, put it back in and left it on low for 3 more hours, which I think is fine.  You could do it for a whole day if you used frozen chicken breasts and left it on low the entire time.  **Note: I’ve been informed by a reader that frozen chicken + low heat = bad idea. **

 

3 Responses to “Buffalo Chicken “Sloppy Joes””

  1. Those look yummy! I love buffalo anything. However, I do believe that it’s not recommended to put frozen raw meat in a crock pot on low because the crock pot defrosts it too slowly, so it’s in the “danger zone” for too long. Hope to help!

    • lonislens Says:

      Good to know! I have never actually made any of my chicken crockpot recipes with frozen raw chicken…I just thought I’d heard of people doing that. I suppose if someone were to make this with frozen meat they should put it on high. I’ll look into that, thanks!

  2. recipe65 Says:

    Wow, its a great recipe. I would also like to try it out


Leave a Reply

