Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lunch Box Oatmeal (Cranberry) Cookies August 16, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 2:25 am

When Borders closed I accumulated a wide variety of cookbooks, since I couldn’t resist the $2.99 pricetags.  I’m working my way through them, and I have been particularly drawn to one entirely devoted to bake sale items.  Yumm.  Comfort in print.  This recipe went over well at work.  I thought that they could use either a little more flour or some more oats, as they started out a little flat.  I adjusted for later batches.  I would also cut down on the sugar slightly next time,  but I tend to be finnicky about things being too sweet.  Overall nice and chewy and moist. 

Recipe Courtesy Of: The Best Bake Sale Cookbook

Original Recipe Located At: pp 50-51

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspon ground cinammon
  • 1.5 sticks unsalted butter (3/4 cup), at room temperature
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar (I’d cut this to 3/4 cup next time)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk  (I’m fairly certain I forgot this…oops)
  • 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup dark raisins (I used cranberries)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts (I left these out since I was bringing them to work and some people are not fans of nuts/are allergic)

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Lightly spray or grease 2 cookie sheets.

2) Combine the flour, baking soda, and cinnamon in a medium bowl.

3) In a large bowl, with an electric mixer, beat the butter and sugar until creamny, about 2 minutes.  Mix in the egg, milk and vanilla.  Blend in the flour mixture.  Stir in the oats, cranberries and nuts (if you add nuts) with a wooden spoon.  The dough will be stiff.

4) Drop heaping tablespoonfuls of dough 2 inches apart onto the prepared cookie sheets.  If necessary, round the edges of the dough with the back of the spoon.

5) Bake in the center of the oven for 8-10 minutes, or until the cookies are firm to the tough and golden brown around the edges.  Cool the cookies on the cookie sheets for 2 minutes, then remove to cool.

 

On a related note, I used my silicone baking sheet liner (courtesy of my mom),  and I am a convert.  The cookies came off so easily and I didn’t have to spray/grease or anything.  Awesome!!

 

Leave a Reply

