Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chicken and Chorizo Stew January 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 1:52 am

2012 New Year’s Resolution = post more frequently and try more new recipes.  I love trying out different things, but sometimes I’m complacent and stick to old faithfuls.  I also “wing it” with things I have on hand, and then I don’t have any recipe to post about.  Then there are the times I have every intention of posting a recipe I have tried, but I gobble it up before I have a chance to take a picture.  Later this year might find me having more difficulty sticking with my resolution, since we’re expecting our first child in June.  But that might also mean plenty of sleepless nights where I can multitask?!

Today’s recipe comes from a magazine that I always find numerous recipes in that I can’t wait to try.  I’m so thankful that my mom gifted me a subscription to Cooking Light.  This is a double issue and includes a wide array of chicken recipes, which is wonderful since that’s the meat I most frequently cook.

Original Recipe From: Cooking Light  (January/February 2012)

Recipe Located At: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/chicken-chorizo-stew-50400000118611/

 

Pardon me, I forgot the parsley!  (The garnish, that is.)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 bunch fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 onion, quartered
  • 1 medium carrot, chopped
  • 2 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 6 ounces chopped Spanish chorizo
  • 3 cups cubed red potato
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped onion
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon saffron threads
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sherry vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Preparation

  1. 1. Combine first 6 ingredients in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add chicken to pan; bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 14 minutes or until chicken is done. Remove chicken, reserving cooking liquid; cool. Shred chicken. Strain cooking liquid through a fine sieve over a bowl; discard solids.
  2. 2. Wipe pan with paper towels. Sauté sausage over medium-high heat 2 minutes. Add potato, onion, and bell pepper; sauté 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic and next 3 ingredients (through saffron); sauté 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Add reserved cooking liquid; bring to a simmer. Simmer 12 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add shredded chicken; simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in vinegar. Ladle about 1 cup stew into each of 4 bowls; top each serving with parsley.

This had very good flavor and was a perfect match for the cold weather that arrived today.  I did make the mistake of not using the proper type of chorizo.  Mine was not the hard, cured chorizo, but rather a chorizo that was similar in texture to typical Italian sausage.  I happened to have some on hand that I picked up from the butcher the other day, so I went ahead and used it.  It tasted fine to me, but I’m sure it was quite a bit different, especially in terms of consistency.  I would call this more of a soup than a stew, since I associate “stew” with a very thick broth.  But whatever you call it, it’s the taste that matters!

 

Leave a Reply

