Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Slow Cooker Carnitas January 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 3:15 pm

I love Mexican food.  I also love my crockpot.  It’s great to put everything in and be able to essentially forget about it…until the smell of yumminess permeates the house.  This recipe was a success.  I adjusted amounts slightly because I used a pork tenderloin (as opposed to a pork shoulder blade roast) that was closer to 1.5 lbs than 2.5 lbs.  I’m leaving the orginal amounts below, however, so you can adjust yourself according to the size of the meat you use.

Recipe Courtesy Of: “Gina’s Skinny Recipes”

Original Recipe Located At:  http://www.skinnytaste.com/2010/03/mexican-slow-cooked-pork-carnitas.html

 

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 lb pork shoulder blade roast, lean, all fat removed (Again, I used a pork tenderloin)
  • 6 cloves garlic, cut into slivers
  • cumin
  • dry adoboseasoning (I used Goya)
  • garlic powder
  • 3/4 cup 99% fat free chicken broth
  • 2-3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce(to taste)
  • 2 bay leaves

 

Directions:

Season pork with salt and pepper. In a medium sauté pan on medium-high heat, brown pork on all sides for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool.  To be honest, I’ve often skipped the browning the meat process when cooking in a crockpot, and I haven’t noticed an issue.  I think when it cooks low and slow and has liquid in it, particularly when it’s a meat you’re going to be shredding, it doesn’t matter so much.  But perhaps that’s also because I typically cook smaller cuts of meat.

Using a sharp knife, insert blade into pork, cutting small holes and insert garlic slivers.

Season pork generously with cumin, adobo and garlic powder all over.

Pour chicken broth in the crockpot, add bay leaves and chipotle peppers.

Place pork in crock pot and cover.

Cook low for 8 hours.  I only cooked mine for about 5.5 hours, but again, it was a smaller cut.  After 8 hours, shredpork using two forks and combine well with the juices that accumulated at the bottom.

Remove bay leaves and adjust salt and cumin (you will probably need to add more).  I added about two tablespoons of sofrito at this point, because I was worried it might be a bit spicy (I still used 3 chipotles even though I had 1lb less meat).  Plus I just happen to love sofrito and recaito, and throw them in just about anything!

Let it cook another 15-30 minutes.

 

One Response to “Slow Cooker Carnitas”

  1. Linda Says:

    Pork tenderloins are so versatile…and quick…nice job!!


Leave a Reply

