Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Paula Deen’s Creamy Mac & Cheese March 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 10:17 pm

Of course I’m posting this recipe while a cloud of controversy surrounds Paula Deen…but I am going to a cookout today, and this is one of my trusty potluck/cookout recipes.  You can make it a little different each time with just a couple of changes.  For example, you could try substituting cheddar broccoli soup for the plain cream of cheddar and adding in some chopped broccoli.  Today I used nacho cheese soup instead of the cream of cheddar.  I was going to add some diced tomatoes, but decided to keep it a little more traidtional, since I don’t know what everyone at the cookout likes.  You’ll love this recipe if you like your mac & cheese to have a nice creamy sauce.  I don’t use the eggs, since I don’t care for the consistency it gives the mac & cheese…but I know people who swear by putting eggs in.  By leaving the eggs out, using evaporated skim milk/lowfat milk, 2% cheese, and light sour cream (or greek yogurt), you can also make this healthier without sacrificing taste.

Recipe Courtesy Of: Paula Deen

Original Recipe Located At: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/creamy-macaroni-and-cheese-recipe/index.html

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni (an 8-ounce box isn’t quite 2 cups)
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stuck) butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 1/2 cups (about 10 ounces) grated sharp cheddar cheese (2% cheese works just fine)
  • 3 eggs, beaten (None of these for me!)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I use light sour cream)
  • 1 (10 3/4-ounce) can condensed cheddar cheese soup
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup whole milk (I use lowfat evaporated milk)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

Boil the macaroni in a 2 quart saucepan in plenty of water until tender, about 7 minutes. I always make sure my pasta is on the al dente side, because it will be in the slow cooker for a little while and will continue to cook/soften.  Mushy mac & cheese isn’t so great!  Drain. In a medium saucepan, mix butter and cheese. Stir until the cheese melts. In a slow cooker, combine cheese/butter mixture and add the eggs, sour cream, soup, salt, milk, mustard and pepper and stir well. Then add drained macaroni and stir again. Set the slow cooker on low setting and cook for 3 hours, stirring occasionally.

 

Leave a comment