Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spicy Sausage & Lentil Soup March 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 2:15 am

I’ve always been a big fan of the spicy lentil soup at Carrabba’s, and in fact will sometimes just order a big bowl of it as my meal (and I really mean big…you will not leave hungry if you order their mixing-bowl sized soup)!  I found this recipe through a bit of Google searching and was pleased.  It didn’t taste exactly like the soup from Carrabba’s, but it was pretty darn close.  The recipe doesn’t include amounts of the spices, so I just added a bit, then a bit more, until I was satisfied.  I honestly can’t say how much of each I used.

Recipe Courtesy Of: Contributer “Boo’s Mom” on food.com

Original Recipe Located At: http://www.food.com/recipe/carrabbas-sausage-and-lentil-soup-162864

Ingredients:

  • 1  lb Italian sausage ( You can also use Italian turkey sausage—which I did, as I generally prefer turkey sausage to pork sausage, anyhow)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 small zucchini, chopped
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 2 (14 ½ ounce) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 2 -3 garlic cloves
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups dry lentils
  • black pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • basil
  • oregano
  • parsley
  • thyme

Directions:

  • Brown sausage; drain off fat.
  • In a large pot combine all ingredients bring to boil.
  • Reduce heat,cover.
  • Simmer for about 1 hour or until lentils are tender. Add water if necessary, for desired consistency. I like to puree about 1 cup of the soup and add back to pot to give it a thicker consistency.  I did puree one cup, and recommend it…but it’s all about personal preference.
  • Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and serve.

I think this would be a great crockpot recipe, but I actually cooked it on the stovetop since I didn’t pick up the ingredients until after work.  As usual with soup, it tasted even better the next day.  We all had a bowl for lunch today (okay, so mine was more like a plastic container that I reheated at work)!

 

Leave a Reply

