Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chocolate Caramel Gooey Bars November 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 6:22 pm

I came across these bars and thought they’d be another good bring to work recipe.  I don’t think mine turned out quite the same as they appear in the Eva Bakes blog, although I did follow the recipe.  I felt the crust was a bit too buttery, and the caramel proportion, particularly in some of the bars, was a little heavy for me.  I should caveat this by saying that I am not a fan of overly sweet items.  For example, I usually scrape most of the frosting off of cupcakes!  I think as is the bars are tasty, particularly if warmed up and maybe with a little vanilla ice cream on top.  If I made them again, I’d probably make a thicker crust (with not quite as much butter), cut down on the caramel slightly and up the chocolate.  Some people at work said they were perfect, though, so it might be a matter of personal preference!

Recipe Courtesy Of: Eva Bakes

Recipe Located Online At:

http://evabakes.blogspot.com/2012/11/chocolate-caramel-bars.html

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup sugar (I used 1/2 cup since I thought it would already be pretty sweet with the caramel)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 38 caramels unwrapped
  • 6 tablespoons heavy cream

Directions

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. 

Unwrap caramels and place into a saucepan.  Add cream and melt over low to medium heat.  I wound up heating the caramels and cream in the microwave in 30 second intervals and then stirring.

Mix together flour, oats, sugar, salt, baking soda and butter.

Press half of the mixture onto the bottom of an 8.5 by 8.5 inch square pan (I lined it with parchment paper so I could lift the bars out once cooled and cut them easily).

Bake crust for 20 minutes. (The recipe doesn’t call to cool the crust before the next step, but I think it might be easier to pour/spread the caramel if the crust has cooled at least slightly.)

Pour melted caramel mixture over the crust and sprinkle with chocolate chips.

Crumble the rest of the crust mixture over the top and bake for an additional 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

