Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Apple Pie Muffins October 16, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 2:12 am

Throw the topping for these muffins onto some chopped up apples and you’d still be happy.  But I suppose you’d have to have the bottom portion to actually call it a muffin.  I spotted this recipe in a Parents magazine (yes, I actually have a subscription…my how my life has changed).  I saw the recipe a bunch of times since my daughter was flipping through it over and over again in the car (anything to keep her entertained on a longer drive).  I promised her I’d make them and even though she might not hold me to that since she’s not even one-and-a-half yet, I kept my promise.  While I don’t know if the magazine’s website can truly call them healthy without feeling a little misleading (they do have half a cup of butter when you add what’s in the batter and the topping), you could lighten that up a little and they are made with whole wheat flour, a nice dose of fruit, and some oats.  I substituted sliced almonds in the topping as I didn’t have pumpkin seeds.  I also tossed in a little ground flaxseed for good measure (I’m getting bold ever since trying that in a recipe for the first time the other day).  These really give off such a perfect fall smell when they’re baking; and you have to eat one when they’re still nice and warm out of the oven.

  Original Recipe Located At: http://www.parents.com/recipe/apple-pie-mini-muffins/

 Apple Pie Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups  white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup  packed brown sugar
  • 2  teaspoons  baking powder
  • 1  teaspoon  ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon  salt
  • 3/4 cup  buttermilk
  • 1   egg
  • 1/4 cup  butter, melted
  • 2  medium Granny Smith apples, peeled and cut into 1/4-inch cubes (2 cups)
  • 1/2 cup  regular rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup  roasted, salted pumpkin seeds (I used sliced almonds, only because I didn’t have pumpkin seeds.  The almonds lent a nice crunch to the topping as I’m sure the seeds do.)
  • 1/4 cup  chilled butter, cut up
  • 1  tablespoon  packed brown sugar

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line 36 1 3/4-inch muffin cups with paper bake cups or grease the cups (for mini muffins; I just used my normal-size silicone muffin liners and the recipe yielded 16 good-sized muffins); set aside. In a small bowl whisk together the flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt; set aside.

2. In a medium bowl whisk together the buttermilk, egg, and melted butter. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and stir until just combined. Fold in the apples. Set batter aside.

3. In a food processor combine the oats, pumpkin seeds, chilled butter, and 1 tablespoon brown sugar. Pulse to combine and chop the pumpkin seeds.  I used my pastry cutter as opposed to the food processor.  With the pumpkin seeds you may need to use some type of food processor since they are harder, but the almonds were soft enough to manipulate with the pastry cutter and it meant one less item that needed to be cleaned in the kitchen!

4. Spoon the batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each nearly full. Sprinkle each with about 1 teaspoon of the topping mixture. Bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool in cups for 5 minutes. Remove and cool completely.

 

Leave a Reply

