Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Crispy Fish Nuggets December 31, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 2:51 am

It’s nice to know exactly what’s inside the breading of any type of nugget, right?  I often buy tilapia.  I’m somewhat picky when it comes to fish and I like that tilapia is very mild.  We frequently make it in “packet” form with some type of fruit salsa.  I decided to try a new spin on fish by making this Cooking Light recipe.  I only had about 1/2 a cup of panko crumbs left in the pantry, so I crushed up some pretzel crackers I had left from holiday snacks and used those for the rest.  For the tartar sauce, I combined an awesome Stonewall Kitchen lemon herb aioli (which is available online but I scored at a little shop that had them on clearance) with plain Greek yogurt in a 1 to 3 ratio.  I may have actually made the fish recipe a bit healthier in terms of a few ingredients.  I substituted whole wheat flour for white flour and egg whites for the egg.  Either way, it definitely beats fried fish from a fast food chain!

  Original Recipe From: Cooking Light (October 2013)

  Original Recipe Located At: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/crispy-fish-nuggets-tartar-50400000130441/

  Crispy Fish Nuggets

Ingredients

1 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)                               

  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour  (I used whole wheat flour)
  • 2 tablespoons water  (I omitted this because I used egg whites)
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten   (I used 3 tablespoons egg whites instead of the egg + what)                  
  • 1 1/2 pounds cod fillets, cut into 1-inch pieces  (I used tilapia)
  • Cooking spray

For the tartar sauce (again, I did my own thing since I wanted to try out my aioli)        

  • 1/4 cup  canola mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon chopped dill pickle
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400°.

2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add panko and thyme to pan; cook 2 minutes or until golden brown, shaking pan frequently. Combine panko mixture, salt, and pepper in a shallow dish. Place flour in another shallow dish. Combine 2 tablespoons water and egg in another shallow dish. Dredge fish in flour mixture. Dip in egg mixture, and dredge in panko mixture. Arrange fish in a single layer on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Bake fish at 400° for 12 minutes or until done.

3. Combine mayonnaise and remaining ingredients in a bowl; serve with nuggets.

 

Leave a Reply

