Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Classy Cube Steak with Balsamic Onion & Mushroom Sauce April 23, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 7:15 pm

I’ve never cooked cube steak before.  I actually rarely cook beef (which is rather punny, since I do prefer my beef on the rare side).  I was honestly somewhat intimidated by this.  It was the last of a wonderful large package of meat my parents gave my husband for his birthday.  The package was from an awesome local butcher and included everything from bacon-wrapped filet mignon to a whole chicken to salmon.  I decided to go with a pretty standard pan-seared cube steak recipe I found online, but I jazzed it up with an improvised sauce.  We have a delicious raspberry dark balsamic vinegar that I used to caramelize the onions.  Then I added in some baby portabello mushrooms, garlic, Italian seasoning, a little salt, plenty of ground black pepper, a little bit of stock, and at the end, a dallop of Greek yogurt to make it creamy (though it would have been great as-is).  YUM.  I could eat this on its own.  The cube steak was very tender (which is what I worried most about) and the slight acidity of the sauce was the perfect balance for the fried meat.  Because this is one of my own creations, some of the amounts are guess-timated.  I’ll make the sauce again and keep closer track.  This is why most of my dinners never make it to the blog!

 

 Recipe Adapted From: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/08/fried-round-steak/

 

 

Classy Cube Steak

 

  Ingredients

  • 1 pound cube steak
  • 1 cup All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Seasoned Salt
  • 3 teaspoons Ground Black Pepper, Or To Taste
  •  Salt, For Seasoning Meat
  • 1/2 cup Canola Oil (more If Needed)
  • 1 Tablespoons Butter
  • 8 oz baby portabello mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 large Vidalia onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar (if you don’t have a sweeter version like I used, add about 1/2 a teaspoon of sugar)
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 cup low-sodium beef stock
  • Ground black pepper and salt to taste
  • Two tablespoons Greek yogurt

Directions

  1. Place onions in a pan over low heat.  Add two tablespoons balsamic vinegar.  Cook on low until caramelized.  Add in mushrooms, garlic, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, and stock.  Keep on low heat until meat is cooked.

  2. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat.

  3. Mix together flour, seasoned salt, and pepper.

  4. Season both sides of steaks with salt and pepper. Dredge each piece in flour mixture, pressing to coat with as much flour as possible.

  5. Add butter to pan right before frying.

  6. When butter is melted, fry pieces of steak in butter/oil mixture. Flip when sides are deep golden brown and cook about 1 minute on the other side.

  7. Remove to a paper towel-lined plate. 

  8. Add Greek yogurt to sauce if desired.  Spoon sauce over meat and serve immediately.
 

Leave a Reply

