Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tilapia with Lemon-Garlic Sauce April 23, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 1:30 am

I do feel like I fall into a rut sometimes when it comes to tilapia.  It’s pretty much the only fish I’ll eat (I buy salmon for the husband and daughter, but I don’t like it myself).  So it was fortuitous timing when the Cooking Light I just picked up featured several tilapia recipes.  I want to try them all, but this one was the winner for a Monday night when I didn’t want to have to go to the grocery store to pick up anything extra.  You really can’t go wrong with fish and lemon, and I add garlic to recipes that don’t even call for it, so this was a no-brainer for me.  I like how quickly it came together, and the preparation was not as messy as an egg dip would have been.  It was very tasty with a perfectly crisp outer layer and soft, flaky inside.  Sometimes I have to make myself really want to eat fish.  I found myself gobbling this up!  The one thing I noticed was that my sauce really thickened up more than expected.  I added a dash more broth and wine and it worked out fine.  Oh, and if you’re a pescetarian–you can easily swap out vegetable broth for the chicken broth (I actually did this myself).  I served it with green beans that I sauteed in sesame oil.  It’s my new addiction after having them like this at a restaurant a few weeks ago and falling in love.

 Recipe Located At: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/tilapia-lemon-garlic-sauce-50400000134197/

 

Tilapia with Lemon-Garlic Sauce 

  Ingredients

  • 4 (6-ounce) tilapia fillets
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons quick-mixing flour (such as Wondra)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 1/3 cup unsalted chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley (I only had the squeeze tube kind on hand, so mine didn’t turn out as pretty)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Directions

1. Sprinkle fish with salt and pepper. Place flour in a shallow dish. Dredge both sides of fish in flour; reserve unused flour. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add 1 tablespoon butter and oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add fish to pan; cook 2 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork. Remove from pan; keep warm.

2. Add reserved flour and garlic to pan; cook 90 seconds or until lightly browned, stirring constantly. Add wine and stock, stirring with a whisk; bring to a boil. Cook 2 minutes or until slightly thickened. Remove pan from heat; stir in remaining 1 tablespoon butter, parsley, and lemon juice. Serve fish with sauce.

 

One Response to “Tilapia with Lemon-Garlic Sauce”

  1. CarolK Says:

    Thanks Loni-I’m always looking for new fish recipes.


Leave a Reply

