Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Plated- Subscription Review June 18, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 12:49 am

I’m doing something a little different than my typical recipe posts and reviewing a subscription meal service called Plated.  I did not receive anything in exchange for this review and the thoughts are 100% my own.  You’ll probably see similar posts in the future as I decided to try out a few different types of subscriptions.

What is it?  Plated has a different menu with 7 meals each week.  You choose which meals you’d like delivered, and also choose whether you’d like it to serve 2 or 4 people.  The meals are delivered in a box that has large ice packs in it, and the meat/fish were vacuum sealed.  For my area, I could opt for a Wednesday or Saturday delivery day.  I chose Saturday, and happened to be home when it was delivered.  I can’t vouch for how the box would hold up to sitting outside in the sun for a number of hours.  My items were all in great shape and conveniently packaged so that the ingredients for each meal were together.

How much does it cost?  Meals are approximately $15 per plate (per person), less with membership ($10/month).  It seemed a little pricey to me vs. going to the store and buying ingredients myself for a recipe.  However, like most subscription services, they offer great discounts when you first join.  So there was little risk.  If I decide to keep it, I’ll think of the cost as opposed to a meal or activity out—a “date night” idea if you will, as opposed to comparing the price to making a typical meal on my own.  Having everything on hand is so convenient and I like the fact that it can push you outside of your box.  I purposely picked red meat and salmon.  I rarely cook either.  I also don’t use as many fresh herbs in recipes as I’d like.  Each of the meals I tried out came with fresh herbs, which was really nice.  I was concerned they may not be as fresh as they should, but they were all great.

How easy is it to make?  As far as ease of preparation, the recipes are rated in terms of how difficult they are to prepare.  Having the ingredients all in one place makes things quicker and less stressful.  No last-minute dash to the grocery store because you get halfway into making something and find that you’re missing a key ingredient!  They come with easy-to-follow recipe cards with step-by-step instructions and photographs.  There are also videos on YouTube if you like that method of learning.  The steak meal included fingerling potatoes that I had to cut a bunch of tiny slices into.  While the end result was lovely, it made me realize my knife work needs some refining.  It took a while and the end result was definitely not perfect.  Still, fun to give something different a whirl.

What could be better?  A couple of things I would have liked: 1) Suggestions on what type of pan to use.  My steak didn’t sear as well as I would have liked.  I don’t cook steak often at all.  I used a nonstick pan and I think a heavier pan/cast iron pan would have worked better.  I learned and used one for the salmon the next night!  2) Exact measurements for spice blends so if you want to recreate the recipe, you know.  The salmon came with a spice rub and it says what type of spices are in it, but not the amounts.  3) If the regular price was a little lower.  The ingredients were top notch, and I know shipping isn’t cheap, but I’m not sure how frequently I’ll buy if there isn’t some type of promotion going on.  I think I’ll still use it, just occasionally.

Overall review?  Definitely worth a try!  It’s fun, and good for foodies and novices alike (my husband would like having everything on hand and the user-friendly recipe card).  

If you do feel like trying Plated out, you can use my referral link to save 1/2 off your first order.  No pressure here! https://www.plated.com/invites/b804f5

Now for the photos:

 Recipe #1: Butter Basted Steak with Hasselback Potatoes

https://www.plated.com/recipes/butter-basted-steak

“Before” Picture of the Ingredients–notice the oyster mushrooms?  Never cooked with them before!  

Plated "Before"

“After” Picture

Butter Basted Steak

Pan Seared Salmon and Avocado Tacos

Salmon Avocado Tacos

Seriously, how gorgeous are these?!  Totally worthy of a dinner party and a nice glass of sangria!

 

 

Leave a Reply

