Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

“Skinny” Peanut Butter Banana Muffins June 21, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 1:18 am

Growing up, my mom always had my sister or I bake banana bread with overripe bananas when we had them.  The ironic thing is, I did not like banana bread at all.  I didn’t mind baking it, I just wouldn’t eat it!  Well palates can change.  I am still not a fan of many banana-flavored things (I don’t care for banana smoothies, but am okay with a banana in a smoothie as long as I can’t really taste it, and I cannot stand banana-flavored candy).  I use bananas in so many of the muffins I bake.  It’s a healthy way to add moisture, and I usually have some on hand.  As my daughter gets older, she really enjoys helping out more and more in the kitchen (which for a nearly two year old can sometimes mean help make a mess in the kitchen).  She especially likes stirring.  These peanut butter banana muffins were a team effort, and she and I were both very happy with the finished product!  Ours were even healthier than the original.  I straight up forgot to add the egg, but they turned out just fine thanks to the extra 1/2 banana I tossed in to use it up.  We used some PB2 chocolate powedered peanut butter powder + almond milk to make the peanut butter.  We also skipped the glaze, though I’m sure it would be delicious.  We would not have skipped the chocolate chips, except we didn’t have any in the cupboard (which is rare)!  I think these may be my daughter’s favorite muffins yet.  They definitely disappeared quickly.

Since I’m trying to share more products/tools that I like, here’s the peanut butter we used: http://www.amazon.com/PB2-Chocolate-Powdered-Peanut-Butter/dp/B00864OJ4K/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1403312521&sr=8-8&keywords=pb2

chocolate pb2

I still use regular peanut butter on sandwiches, but I really like this powder for smoothies and I often add a spoonful of it to things I bake.

Here’s the scoop I use to put my batter in my muffin pans.  It’s so handy.  Much less messy than tablespoons.

Cookie Scoop

http://www.amazon.com/OXO-Grips-Medium-Cookie-Scoop/dp/B0000CDVD2/ref=sr_1_1?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1403312749&sr=1-1&keywords=oxo+medium+cookie+scoop

Here are the silicone muffin cups I use (regular and mini size).

Muffin Linersmini muffin

http://www.amazon.com/Chicago-Metallic-Baking-Essentials-Silicone/dp/B0047T6UQI/ref=sr_1_1?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1403312708&sr=1-1&keywords=silicone+muffin

http://www.amazon.com/Kitchen-Supply-2373-8-Inch-Silicone/dp/B001ET7B9Y/ref=sr_1_5?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1403312708&sr=1-5&keywords=silicone+muffin

And finally, a tip on fitting maximum muffins in the oven to keep from having to keep putting them in/out.  I use these little toaster oven trays for “spillover” muffins and mini muffin liners.  I can usually fit two of them next to my normal 12-count muffin pan, whereas I cannot fit two of the muffin pans in my oven.  The ones I use are really meant for pizzas, and are probably not ideal for muffins since you don’t necessarily want a crispy bottom, but I haven’t noticed any ill effects from using them so I’m sticking with it and saving $ instead of buying an extra set of non-crisping ones.  😉

toater oven sheet

http://www.amazon.com/Nordic-Ware-Toaster-Pizza-Crisping/dp/B0000CFSPV/ref=sr_1_15?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1403312917&sr=1-15&keywords=toaster+oven+pan

And yes, I am pretty sure I keep Amazon in business.

 

 Recipe Located At: http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/09/18/skinny-peanut-butter-banana-muffins/

 

PB Banana Muffins 

  Ingredients

  • 2 ripe large bananas, mashed with no chunks
  • 1/4 cup honey (or pure maple syrup)
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup lowfat plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk (or cow’s milk, soy milk, rice milk)
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 and 3/4 cups white whole wheat flour (or an even mix of whole wheat + all-purpose)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter, melted (optional glaze)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425F degrees. Spray 12-count muffin pan with nonstick spray. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk the mashed bananas, honey, brown sugar, yogurt, egg, and milk together until combined.  Whisk in the peanut butter and vanilla extract until smooth and thick. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and chocolate chips together (if using).  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and lightly whisk until combined.  Try not to overstir the muffin batter or your muffins will have a tough (not soft) texture. Stir as little as possible until no flour pockets remain.
  4. Fill the muffin cups practically all the way to the top. Between 3/4 full and all the way full. See photo above for a visual.  Bake for 5 minutes at 425F degrees. Keeping the muffins in the oven, reduce the oven temperature to 350F and continue to bake for 12 more minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  5. Drizzle muffins with melted peanut butter if desired.
  6. Muffins stay fresh at room temperature for 3 days (I popped mine in the fridge after day 2—it’s been so humid here lately). Muffins without peanut butter on top freeze well, up to 3 months.
 

Leave a Reply

