Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roasted Broccoli July 18, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 7:51 pm

Broccoli is probably my favorite vegetable.  Green beans are nearly tied for the win, especially if they’re sauteed with garlic.  I wanted to do something other than my typical steam method, so I gave roasting a try.  My mom makes something similar to this with cauliflower, and it sounds delicious.  Although the broccoli is slightly less healthy when dusted with panko and sprinkled with cheese, it’s worth it.  I used an Australian lemon olive oil we received in the Taste Trunk BBQ box I got my husband for Father’s Day (which went over very well).  The lemon flavor was a perfect compliment to this roasted broccoli, especially for a summer dish.  I served the broccoli alongside a very quick supper of roasted garlic tortellini (purchased) topped with oven-roasted grape tomatoes (might as well put that hot oven to good use) and fresh basil (somewhat amazed my basil plant is alive over a month after I purchased it).  This recipe is quick and easy, especially if you buy pre-cut broccoli, which I often do when it’s on sale.  I would be very mindful of the panko, however, as I burned my first batch and had to start over.  It goes from toasted to burned in seconds!  I imagine if you like a little spice, some red pepper flakes would work well in this.

 

 Recipe Located At: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/oven-roasted-broccoli-recipe.html

 Oven Roasted Broccoli 

  Ingredients

  • 1 pound broccoli, rinsed and trimmed
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/3 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan or sharp Cheddar

 

 Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

2.  Cut the broccoli florets into bite size pieces. Cut the stalk into 1/8-inch thick, round slices.  Avoid all of this if you buy a refrigerated steamer bag of broccoli like I did.  Place the broccoli into a mixing bowl and toss with the olive oil, garlic, kosher salt and pepper and set aside.

3.  Spread the panko into a 13 by 9-inch metal cake pan and place into the oven for 2 minutes or until lightly toasted. Remove the panko from the oven and add to the bowl with the broccoli mixture. Toss to combine. Return the mixture to the cake pan, place in the oven and roast just until the broccoli is tender, 8 to 10 more minutes. Remove from the oven, toss in the cheese and serve immediately.

 

One Response to “Roasted Broccoli”

  1. CarolK Says:

    Love broccoli also and this looks delicious.


Leave a Reply

