Lunch With Loni

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Orange (Carrot) Blueberry Muffins June 23, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — lonislens @ 12:28 am

I figured a departure from my recent lemon-blueberry infatuation was in order.  You’ll be seeing another orange blueberry muffin recipe soon, as I came across a few in my search that looked good to me.  This one starts by soaking oats in orange juice.  Never done that before!  The result is that you can’t really even tell the muffins have oats in them.  Sometimes I like the texture, but for this type of muffin, I think the smooth result is better.  I made a few switches, such as using whole wheat flour in the place of half of the all purpose flour.  I also substituted egg whites for one of the eggs, and some pureed mango for some of the oil (I figured it would “go” better than applesauce in this citrus-y muffin).  I cut down on the sugar content, and used an orange/carrot juice blend (this is what I happened to have in the fridge).  I also didn’t put the crumble topping on them that the original recipe calls for.  This was mostly because it avoided an extra step and extra bowl!  I’d likely make them that way if I were making them for a brunch or something, but for our everyday consumption (and freeze-ability), the sans topping version is better.  The muffins are a pretty orange color, and the higher baking temperature gives them a nice crusty top.  The little one has already eaten three mini muffins in the two hours they’ve been out of the oven, so I guess this recipe is a keeper!

Oh, and here’s a tool I forgot to share in my last post.  The Tovolo “better batter” tool is like a whisk on steroids, and is a must if you make a lot of muffins and quick breads.

Tovolo Better Batter Tool

 Recipe Located At: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/orange-blueberry-muffins

 

Orange Blueberry Muffins 

  Ingredients

  • 1 cup uncooked oatmeal
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1.5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/3 cup mango puree
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 egg white
  • 1-1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon grated orange peel

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425F degrees. Spray 12-count muffin pan with nonstick spray. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk the mashed bananas, honey, brown sugar, yogurt, egg, and milk together until combined.  Whisk in the peanut butter and vanilla extract until smooth and thick. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and chocolate chips together (if using).  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and lightly whisk until combined.  Try not to overstir the muffin batter or your muffins will have a tough (not soft) texture. Stir as little as possible until no flour pockets remain.
  4. Fill the muffin cups practically all the way to the top. Between 3/4 full and all the way full. See photo above for a visual.  Bake for 5 minutes at 425F degrees. Keeping the muffins in the oven, reduce the oven temperature to 350F and continue to bake for 12 more minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  5. Drizzle muffins with melted peanut butter if desired.
  6. Muffins stay fresh at room temperature for 3 days (I popped mine in the fridge after day 2—it’s been so humid here lately). Muffins without peanut butter on top freeze well, up to 3 months.
 

Leave a comment